Compliment/Complaint

  1. DECATUR 2050 COMPREHENSIVE PLAN

    COMMUNITY CHARRETTE - OCTOBER 26TH, 8:30 AM TO 12:30 PM Keep reading...
View All News

Compliment a Decatur Police Employee
If a Decatur Police Department employee has done a good job and you want to say thanks, you may elect to do one of the following:

  • Call or visit the Decatur Police Department during regular business hours and ask to speak to a supervisor within the employee's division of assignment.
  • Complete a Compliment form and submit it electronically.
  • Complete a Compliment form and send it via the United States Postal System to:
    Decatur Police Department
    1601 S. State St. 
    Decatur, TX 76234

Your comments will be forwarded through the employee's chain of command and will be reviewed by the Office of the Chief of Police. After the review, a copy of your comments will be placed in the employee's personnel file and the original document provided to the employee.

File a Complaint Against a Decatur Police Employee
The department recognizes the importance of protecting the community from employees who have demonstrated acts of misconduct or have shown they are unfit for law enforcement work, the need to protect employees from false allegations of misconduct, and the opportunity to periodically assess the effectiveness of our policies and procedures. These objectives can only be accomplished through a consistently thorough and objective investigative process.

The Chief of Police is responsible for administering the complaint process. Should you hold the impression an employee has been involved in misconduct or are dissatisfied with our service you may register a complaint by:

  • Contact the Chief of Police during regular business hours at 
     (940) 393-0300 
  • Contact an on-duty Supervisor at (940) 393-0300 after regular business hours
  • Completing a Complaint Form and submit it to the:

    Decatur Police Department
    1601 S. State St. 
    Decatur, TX 76234

Texas law requires that all complaints against police officers be in writing and signed by the person making the complaint. Complaints must generally be made within 30-days of the incident unless special circumstances exist. The person who was wronged must file the complaint; other persons may give statements as witnesses.
 
False Complaints
Filing a false complaint against a police employee is a violation of the Texas Penal Code, Section 37.02. If a person knowingly and intentionally makes a false statement under oath, or swears to the truth of a false statement previously made under oath, a person may be found guilty and punished by a fine up to $4,000, confinement in jail up to one year, or by both fine and imprisonment.

Complaint Forms

This forms is provided for your convenience. However, you must print, sign, and mail or drop off this form to the department; they will not be electronically submitted. Send forms to:
 

     Decatur Police Department
     
1601 S. State St. 
     Decatur, TX 76234